Arnold Community Council announces 2024 AEDC Fellows selections

  • Published
  • By Maj. Gen. (Ret.) Mike Wiedemer
  • Arnold Community Council

The Arnold Engineering Development Complex Fellows Program added three new members this year.

Dr. Alan Hale, Scott Meredith and Gary Knox will be formally inducted as AEDC Fellows during the Arnold Community Council banquet to be held in the fall.

Hale and Meredith were selected as AEDC Technical Fellows, while Knox was selected as an AEDC Lifetime Achievement Fellow. All three of these individuals provided disproportionately positive outcomes for AEDC customers, suppliers, stakeholders and employees.

Hale, employed by the AEDC Test Operations and Sustainment contractor, was selected as a result of his subject matter expertise in turbomachinery and acoustical modeling, which has been recognized by academia, industry and the government as advancing the state-of-the-art.

Meredith, employed in the AEDC 716th Test Squadron, was selected for his breadth and depth in advancing the fidelity and productivity of wind tunnel facilities around the world for diverse customers including the Department of Defense, NASA, the Department of Transportation, Korea, Germany and the American aerospace industry.

Knox, retired from the AEDC TOS contractor, was selected as a result of his work as a senior staff engineer where he led the integration of systems across contractual, customer and facility interfaces.

The AEDC Fellows program, established in 1989, recognizes AEDC personnel who have made substantial and exceptionally distinguished contributions to the nation’s aerospace ground testing capability. Hale, Meredith and Knox represent the 118th, 119th and 120th AEDC Fellows selected since the program’s inception.