News Search

  • Combined effort achieves timely replacement of crane at AEDC Propulsion Wind Tunnel

    In a unified effort, AEDC Propulsion Wind Tunnel management, AEDC Test Operation and Sustainment contractor National Aerospace Solutions, the Arnold Air Force Base Contracting Office and the Arnold Civil Engineering Branch's Simplified Acquisition Base Engineering Requirements (SABER) contractor, SDVE, LLC, executed a very timely replacement of a
  • Michael Glennon first from AEDC chosen for RAND Research Fellowship

    Michael Glennon, AEDC Deputy Technical Director, has been selected to participate in a Senior Development Education Program for the RAND Research Fellowship.Glennon will be on temporary duty to Santa Monica, California, for 12 months, and while there he will be working with other RAND Research Fellows employing advanced research techniques and
  • Arnold/JA commemorates National Crime Victims’ Rights Week, April 8-14

    The Arnold Legal Office, in commemoration of National Crime Victims’ Rights Week April 8-14, is recognizing organizations that have been fighting for victims’ rights for decades, forging new partnerships to address current problems, and strengthening existing partnerships.NCVRW is an annual observance to bring communities together and educate the
  • AEDC Commander presents HOSC grant check

    U.S. Air Force Col. Scott A. Cain, Arnold Engineering Development Complex commander, presents Mrs. Olga Oakley, Hands-On Science Center's Air Force STEM director, with a grant check for $113,000 at the Hands-On Science Center, April 5, 2018.The Hands-On Science Center runs the Air Force Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics program on
  • Junior Force Council announces new 2018 officers

    The Junior Force Council at Arnold Air Force Base recently elected new officers for calendar year 2018.The officers are Stephen Maccarino, president; Capt. Jonathan Dias, vice president; Dan Ogg, vice president; Brandon Hoffman, AEDC Engineering Council representative; Angela Bowden, treasurer; Paul Wright, webmaster; and Becky Morris,
  • AEDC Woman’s Club to announce scholarship recipients

    The April 5 meeting of the AEDC Woman’s Club will be held at the Lakewood Country Club in Tullahoma and will feature the scholarship recipients from area high schools and guest speaker Will Rabb.Rabb, a sports announcer, received a scholarship from the AEDCWC in 2007. He graduated from Franklin County High School and the University of Tennessee at
  • Excellence in execution key to AEDC success

    In 2018, there is a renewed emphasis on two key components of the AEDC culture – excellence and qualityOver the last few years, Team AEDC has been working to elevate the overall quality of the product provided to customers. Inside Test Operations, the focus has been on more than just delivering hard drives full of raw test data but on decision
  • Arnold AFB craftsmen assist in NFAC return to service

    A trio of craftsmen at Arnold Air Force Base recently made a more than 2,300-mile trip out west to help the National Full-Scale Aerodynamics Complex expedite its return to service.In early February, John England, Andy Riis and Tim Taylor traveled to NFAC, located at Moffett Field, in Mountain View, California. There, the three provided fit-up and
  • Matty reflects fondly upon Air Force career

    Aside from a brief period about six years ago, Jere Matty, the Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics Coordinator at Arnold Air Force Base, had essentially worked for the U.S. Air Force since the age of 18.“That’s why tomorrow is going to be so unusual because I’ve never not worked for the Air Force,” Matty said with a smile on the eve of
  • Dr. Woodrow Whitlow Jr. recognized for his NASA contributions during Cleveland Cavaliers game

    As part of the Cleveland Cavaliers Black Heritage Celebration events during the month of February, Dr. Woodrow Whitlow Jr., technical director for the AEDC Test Operations and Sustainment contractor, was recognized during halftime of the team’s home game on Feb. 25 for being the first African-American director of Research and Technology at NASA